What do Climate Change, Local Economies and Economic Development have in common?

Agriculture!

Come learn how the Institute for Sustainable Food Systems at Kwantlen University is working to change our Southwest British Columbia food system, to make us more self-reliant and resilient, while combating greenhouse gas emissions and the giant carbon footprint of our current global food system

mullinix bio pic.jpg

Professor Kent Mullinix is the head of the Institute of Sustainable Food Systems and will speak at Okanagan College as part of their Speaker's Series on January 18, from 7:00pm-8:30pm in the Lecture Theatre.

Admission is a donation of canned or dry food for the Student Emergency Food fund.

Click on the link below to check out a 5 minute clip of Kent speaking on this subject in Vancouver.

youtube graphic mullinix video.JPG

Summerland's Film and Conversation series wrapped up at the end of January and now a great short video has been produced which captures the community's sentiment during the project run through Summerland Healthy Community Initiative.  Click on the image below to watch an inspiring clip!

shci image.JPG

2017 New Directions

Our new Chair, Toni Boot, District of Summerland Councillor and Regional District Director has been hard at work, convening meetings and looking at opportunities.  Our well received presentations of Kent Mullinix talking about designing a Food System for Southwest BC has been well received by both decision makers and grassroots community leaders.  As such, our Coalition Board has chosen to make issues connected to food our primary focus over the coming few years.

We know that access to affordable, nutritious food is out of reach for many of our citizens and that has long term consequences for our community's health.  There are mental health issues, as well as chronic diseases like obesity and diabetes, that are directly linked to our food intake.  If you are interested in supporting work around good food, please get in touch!

You can become a member to support the Coalition in its Vision of making the Okanagan Similkameen the healthiest region in BC!  Memberships to the Society are only $2.

Read more about how you can get involved.

Food secure oliver snip.JPG

Oliver has begun working on its Community Food Action plan in earnest, with an informative stakeholders meeting held November24, 2016 at the Oliver Community Center with at least 50 people in attendance, from farmers, to foodies, to cooks, to concerned citizens.

An interesting presentation was made by a Trail resident on a successful food growing project which brought together business community members with the local public and grew into many more initiatives within the small community.  Looking forward to seeing what's next for Oliver!

 

Contact Coordinator Angelique Wood      info@oshlc.ca       twitter icon.JPG@AngeliqueOSHLC

Angelique Wood, Coordinator OSHLC avenueAW.jpg

If you have ideas for the newsletter or website, or if you'd like to get in touch with me directly, please call my cell at 250-499-0503 or email me at info@oshlc.ca


Board of Directors, Regional District Okanagan Similkameen

Director                                      Representing               Email

Pendergraft, Mark                        Electoral Area “A”          mpendergraft@rdos.bc.ca

Bush, George                              Electoral Area “B”          gbush@rdos.bc.ca

Schafer, Terry                              Electoral Area “C”          tschafer@rdos.bc.ca

Siddon, Tom                                Electoral Area “D”          tsiddon@rdos.bc.ca

Kozakevich, Karla (Chair)           Electoral Area “E”          kkozakevich@rdos.bc.ca

Brydon, Michael                           Electoral Area “F”           mbrydon@rdos.bc.ca

Christensen, Elef                         Electoral Area “G”          echristensen@rdos.bc.ca

Coyne, Bob                                  Electoral Area “H”           bcoyne@rdos.bc.ca

Jakubeit, Andrew                  City of Penticton(Mayor)        Andrew.jakubeit@penticton.ca

Konanz, Helena                   City of Penticton                     Helena.konanz@penticton.ca

Sentes, Judy                        City of Penticton                     judy.sentes@penticton.ca

Martin, Andre                         City of Penticton                     Andre.martin@penticton.ca

Waterman, Peter                    Summerland (Mayor)             waterman@summerland.ca

Boot, Toni                               Summerland                           tboot@summerland.ca

Hovanes, Ron                          Oliver (Mayor)                        rhovanes@oliver.ca

McKortoff, Suzan                    Osoyoos (Mayor)                    smckortoff@osoyoos.ca

Armitage, Frank                      Princeton (Mayor)                  farmitage@princeton.ca

Bauer, Manfred                      Keremeos (Mayor)                  mayor@keremeos.ca

Welcome to the Okanagan Similkameen Healthy Living Coalition!

The Okanagan Similkameen Healthy Living Coalition unites all regional public institutions that have a health-related mandate to combine their assets and experience to engage local communities around the goal of building new community norms for health and well-being. These institutions include: Municipalities, the Regional District, School Districts, Indian Bands, Interior Health, UBC Okanagan and Okanagan College. Future growth will add private sector institutions with an interest in workplace and community health to the Coalition.

We operate primarily through Constellations, which are groups that come together to focus on a joint outcome. Constellations are innovative community-driven projects that achieve measurable improvement in the lifestyles of our residents. Their focus is action-oriented and may include education, service delivery, research or other activities aimed at changing social norms for health. Constellations may expand, merge, shrink or dissolve based on their learnings, new opportunities and changing social context, thereby ensuring that the focus remains relevant and effective in the pursuit of social change. Our main focus is on providing operational support and know-how to Constellations as they strive to create a culture of healthy living in our communities.

The goal of the Coalition is to facilitate success for each Constellation. Success will come from strong partnerships that share energies and strengths to collaborate toward the common goal of enabling individuals in our communities to lead healthier lifestyles.